Back to the sea

I’ve taken my inspiration for this Sunday Stills challenge (Backs of Things) from the sea. Come to think of it, it’s remarkable that I’ve been doing this blog for five weeks and not yet inflicted any tall ship sailing photos on the unsuspecting denizens of WordPress!

The back of the sails on the foremast, and the back of a bosun’s mate. (Tenacious, the Atlantic Ocean, 2006)

The back of the sails on the foremast, and the back of a bosun’s mate. (Tenacious, the Atlantic Ocean, 2006)

The back of the masts, the back of the yards, and the backs of the crew harbour stowing the main course. (Lord Nelson, the Indian Ocean, 2013)

The back of the masts, the back of the yards, and the backs of the crew who are harbour-stowing the main course. (Lord Nelson, the Indian Ocean, 2013)

About these ships:UK-based Jubilee Sailing Trust owns and operates SV Tenacious and STS Lord Nelson. They are the world’s only tall ships designed to be sailed by a crew of mixed physical ability. If you live in Australia, New Zealand or Halifax (Canada), you can catch Lord Nelson on her epic round-the-world voyage.
Click here for dates and locations.

sailing-badge

11 thoughts on “Back to the sea

    • Elizabeth Krall says:

      Thanks Di. I’ve made a number of voyages on tall ships, including two crossings of the Atlantic Ocean and one of the Indian Ocean, so I have quite a few photos like these!

      Like

    • Go for it! I’ve done two crossings of the Atlantic on Tenacious, and loved them both. (Mind you, the Indian Ocean was significantly warmer.) Check out the JST’s voyage program, I’m sure one of the ships will be doing a crossing at some point.
      My first novel, Ship to Shore, is about a couple who meet while sailing a tall ship across the Atlantic. I drew on the knowledge and experiences I gained from my voyages on the JST ships.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think!

