Catch the wave

I love watching people surf. The good ones make it look effortless, so graceful and, well, fun; the not-so-good ones make me laugh. Living just a few minutes’ walk from some of Sydney’s best beaches, I have endless opportunities to watch all grades of surfers. Confession: Before I moved to Sydney for the first time, in 1999, I didn’t know that an ankle tether connected board to rider, and I was quite puzzled by the way riders’ boards popped up beside them when they spilled!

Umina Beach (the Central Coast, north of Sydney): a young surfer considers his approach.

Umina Beach (the Central Coast, north of Sydney): a young surfer considers his approach.

Tamarama Beach: a bodyboarder pops up for air.

Tamarama Beach: a bodyboarder pops up for air.

Tamarama Beach: a bodyboarder punches through a wave.

Tamarama Beach: a bodyboarder punches through a wave.

Riding the waves at Bondi Beach.

Riding the waves at Bondi Beach.

Riding the waves at Bondi Beach.

Riding the waves at Bondi Beach.

Riding the waves at Bondi Beach.

Riding the waves at Bondi Beach.

Riding the waves at Bondi Beach.

Riding the waves at Bondi Beach.

Riding the waves at Bondi.

Riding the waves at Bondi.

Bondi Beach: Posing? Who, me?

Bondi Beach: Posing? Who, me?

One thought on “Catch the wave

Tell me what you think!

