Purple haze

It’s jacaranda time again in Sydney! I used to think that flowering cherry trees were show-offs, but they’ve got nothing on the clouds of fragrant purple-blue blossom that catch the eye in spring. The flowers fall gently to the ground and gather like purple snow along the edges of sidewalks. Their delicate scent hangs in the air, a cross between lilacs and grape-flavoured candy. I couldn’t resist capturing the fleeting beauty of two of these trees on my street — and it’s a great excuse to play around with my new camera. 🙂

The warm glow of the brick wall in the evening sun contrasts the cool purple-blues of the flowers.

The warm glow of the brick wall in the evening sun contrasts the cool purple-blues of the flowers.

In full sun, these flowers appear more purple than blue.

In full sun, these flowers appear more purple than blue.

Cool blues in the deep shade of evening.

Cool blues in the deep shade of evening.

Fallen petals framed by the metal posts of a fence.

Fallen petals framed by the metal posts of a fence.

One pink hibiscus among the blue jacarandas drifting along the sidewalk.

One pink hibiscus among the blue jacarandas drifting along the sidewalk.

4 thoughts on “Purple haze

  1. I LOVE jacaranda trees, but they don’t seem to grow here in the UK. I first fell in love with them in Pretoria and North Johannesburg of all places, but they do grow in Paris so I’m not sure why I haven’t seen any here. Lovely photos – the last one especially 😉

    Like

    • Alas, the jacarandas are almost finished flowering for the year, and today’s heavy rain will decimate what’s left. Thanks for your comment about the last photo, which is my favourite. My new camera (a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ200) is simply amazing. It’s a ‘bridge’ camera, between compact and DSLR, and what sold me was the Leica f2.8 25-600mm zoom lens. This thing takes photos I could only have dreamed of with my trusty compact!

      Like

      • We like the Panasonics too, my husband has an old bridge camera, but he actually prefers our new DMC-TZ40 as it is small enough to fit in a pocket when travelling, but has a 20 zoom so better than the larger camera. Both give great results though! Mine is a Fuji bridge, though I do keep thinking about getting one of the new compact system cameras like the Panasonic Lumix GF6 – can’t quite decide whether or not I’d like having to change lenses.

        Like

Tell me what you think!

