Sculpture by the Sea 2013

Sydney’s annual free sculpture display runs along the coast from Bondi Beach to Tamarama Beach. The exhibits range from wacky to wonderful, from weird to whimsical. But there’s always something to make me pull out my camera! (And I go every year, which I guess makes it a habit.)

Is it a light bulb? Bubble gum? It certainly is red! (Qian Sihua, bubble no:5)

Is it a light bulb? Bubble gum? It certainly is red! (Qian Sihua, bubble no:5)

But how does he get down again? (Ken Unsworth , there`s many a slip 2013)

But how does he get down again? (Ken Unsworth , there`s many a slip 2013) (click for close-up)

If only they also made noise, like a giant wind chime ... (Rebecca Rose, look at me)

If only they also made noise, like a giant wind chime … (Rebecca Rose, look at me)

A self-contained water world. (Lucy Humphrey, horizon)

A self-contained water world. (Lucy Humphrey, horizon)

This water-filled sphere is amazing.
You can view a slideshow of my other photos of it, much larger, here.

Sleepy? (Eko Bambang Wisnu & Ida Lawrence, goodnight uncle john)

Sleepy? (Eko Bambang Wisnu & Ida Lawrence, goodnight uncle john)

Hidden interior. (Michael Snape, breach)

Hidden interior. (Michael Snape, breach)

I kept expecting little aliens to emerge. "Take me to your leader!" (Byung-Chul Ahn, life reflection xx #1)

I kept expecting little aliens to emerge. “Take me to your leader!” (Byung-Chul Ahn, life reflection xx #1)

Guess which boy is the art lover? (David Hashimoto, moment of clarity (background); Carl Billingsley, red center (foreground))

Guess which boy is the art lover? (David Hashimoto, moment of clarity (background); Carl Billingsley, red center (foreground))

The reminds me of the Siq (the entrance to Petra). (Yunghsu Hsu, 2012-11)

The reminds me of the Siq (the entrance to Petra). (Yunghsu Hsu, 2012-11)

Like a crescent moon fallen to earth. (Matthew Harding, the cheshire`s grin (with bubble no:5 in background))

Like a crescent moon fallen to earth. (Matthew Harding, the cheshire`s grin (with bubble no:5 in background))

sydney-strolls-badge

5 thoughts on “Sculpture by the Sea 2013

    • Elizabeth Krall says:

      Well, some are on the clifftops! For a few weeks each year, they give a new spin to a very familiar coastal walk. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  1. How wonderful, my son posted a few of the exhibits last year on his Facebook page, but he is alas no photographer. These shots are magnificent Elizabeth. I particularly like the composition with the two boys. Thanks for posting these!
    Jude xx

    Like

Tell me what you think!

