A lot like Christmas

You know that song that goes “It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas”? Sydney is doing its best to remind people of the season, just in case you overlooked it. Here are a few images that have caught my attention recently, and are my contribution to Sunday Stills Holiday Lights and Decorations.

I’d like to wish “Happy Holidays” to everyone, and I’ll see you again in 2014.

No chance I could miss this one, as I walk past it twice a day: it's the tree and a wreath in the lobby of my office building.

No chance I could miss this one, as I walk past it twice a day: it’s the tree and a wreath in the lobby of my office building.

Stars line Martin Place and blaze in the summer sun.

Stars line Martin Place and blaze in the summer sun.

Serried ranks of wreaths, Strand Arcade.

Serried ranks of wreaths, Strand Arcade.

Wreath close-up, Strand Arcade.

Wreath close-up, Strand Arcade.

The Christmas tree in Martin Place is to Sydneysiders what  the tree in Trafalgar Square is to Londoners. Here, its crowning star is caught in a shaft of late sunlight and backdropped by an office building covered in scaffolding and netting.

The Christmas tree in Martin Place is to Sydneysiders what the tree in Trafalgar Square is to Londoners. Here, its crowning star is caught in a shaft of late sunlight and backdropped by an office building covered in scaffolding and netting.

The Martin Place tree, against the late 19th century Colonial Mutual Life building.

The Martin Place tree, against the late 19th century Colonial Mutual Life building.

A bauble on the Martin Place tree. I'm the faint pink blob and spot of light in the centre, standing on the steps of the General Post Office.

A bauble on the Martin Place tree. I’m the faint pink blob and spot of light in the centre, standing on the steps of the General Post Office.

Flying reindeer, lights and spheres, in the Westfield Bondi Junction mall.

Flying reindeer, lights and spheres, in the Westfield Bondi Junction mall.

No lights, no designer, no budget. A colleague crafted this message on a writeable wall in our office.

No lights, no designer, no budget. A colleague crafted this message on a writeable wall in our office.

11 thoughts on “A lot like Christmas

    • Elizabeth Krall says:

      Thank you Elina! I felt a bit silly standing in the lobby for so long, taking shot after shot after shot of the tree, with people giving me weird looks as they left, but I’m pleased with the final result.

      Like

      • Elizabeth Krall says:

        I’m getting better at ignoring the stares. Of course, it helps that I can’t actually see the stares while I’ve got one eye closed and the other against the viewfinder. 😉

        Like

      • Haha that’s true. I’m very often on my knees somewhere and once one guy came out of his building and said he just had to come out and see, he was curious what I was doing in a strange position on the ground.. from the window he didn’t see my camera… 😀

        Like

  1. I always find it odd to see Christmas decorations in a warm climate. Especially Christmas trees and robins! The penguin is great! But some of Sydney’s decorations look a bit more contemporary. My favourite is actually your first image – great angle and I like the white/silver theme. The close-up of the wreath comes second, but they are all great shots. I felt a bit daft photographing window displays last week – people were very courteous though, waiting for me before they stepped in front, which I always get embarrassed about.
    Have a great Christmas Elizabeth. I hope you’ll have some fireworks for us in the New Year!
    Jude xx

    Like

    • Elizabeth Krall says:

      hi Jude. What I find funny about Sydney decorations is the spray snow stencil shapes of snowflakes on people’s windows. So far from Sydney reality!
      The two photos you’ve identified are my favourites, too — the ‘arty’ ones that required some thought. The others are more ‘point and shoot’. I, too, feel slightly embarrassed when people pause to let me take photos, but the interesting thing I’ve noticed is that it happens much more often now that I use a bulkier bridge camera rather than a compact; it seems to convey more authority. 😉
      Alas, no Sydney fireworks for me this year. I’m going to South Texas to visit my parents (they spend the winter there, like migrating birds) for Christmas, and we are going to Monterrey for New Year’s Eve.
      Have a wonderful Christmas!
      Elizabeth

      Like

Tell me what you think!

