Stranded in South Texas

I am one of the thousands of people whose travel plans have been disrupted by Winter Storm Hercules. The snow and ice didn’t reach south Texas, of course, but it grounded hundreds of planes farther north and led to the cancellation of thousands of flights — including mine, two days in a row. I’m now scheduled to leave tomorrow. Maybe.

There are some consolations to being stranded, however: my mother is a fantastic cook! (And these photos allow me to enter Ed’s Sunday Stills Challenge, The Letter F — FESTIVE FOOD, in my case.)

Filo-wrapped jalapeno peppers stuffed with crab and parmesan cheese.

Filo-wrapped jalapeno peppers stuffed with crab and parmesan cheese.

Oysters Rockerfeller (oysters in a cheese and spinach sauce).

Oysters Rockerfeller (oysters in a cheese and spinach sauce).

A trio of hors d'ouevres: asparagus spears wrapped in filo pastry; salmon pinwheels; guacamole-topped cheese crisps.

A trio of hors d’ouevres: asparagus spears wrapped in filo pastry; salmon pinwheels; guacamole-topped cheese crisps.

Pistachio-filo wafers with lemon honey mousse.

Pistachio-filo wafers with lemon honey mousse.

Malakoff Torte (brandy-dipped sponge fingers with a ground almond-brandy-cream filling).

Malakoff Torte (brandy-dipped sponge fingers with a ground almond-brandy-cream filling).

16 thoughts on “Stranded in South Texas

  1. Malakoff Mum says:

    Enjoyed every minute…… having you here was a great excuse for straying from the diet and you helped in the preparation.

    Like

  2. Katie Wilson says:

    OMG, the food looks amazing!! And the Haigh’s look perfect πŸ˜‰ Good luck getting back, if you make it for Friday, there will be Telstra bubbles waiting…

    Like

  3. OMG I think I’d have cancelled my flight and stayed there. I LOVE oysters Rockefeller (hate them raw) and the filo-wrapped jalapeΓ±o peppers and pistachio filo-wafers with honey lemon mousse look delicious! I am drooling!

    Like

    • Elizabeth Krall says:

      I hate raw oysters too. Blech. But not only did the four extra days with my parents mean more yummy food, it also gave me a chance to practice food photos.My poor dad kept saying, “Take the damned photo already so we can eat!” πŸ˜‰

      Like

Tell me what you think!

