Travel Album: South Padre Island (Texas)

Gone fishin’

On one of the few sunny days during my Christmas visit to south Texas, we went to South Padre Island to fish. People tend to imagine Texas as all cattle and oil wells, not thinking of that long coastline that curves along the Gulf of Mexico. For Travel Photo Mondays (sorry, I’m a couple of days late), here, perhaps, is a new slant on Texas.

I am not a morning person: the only time I tend to see a sunrise is when I'm on the 4am-8am watch while sailing. But even I could appreciate the beauty of the sun emerging from a low bank of clouds and illuminating the still waters of the bay.

I am not a morning person; the only time I tend to see a sunrise is when I’m on the 4am-8am watch while sailing. But even I could appreciate the beauty of the sun emerging from a low bank of clouds and illuminating the still waters of the bay.

To most people, South Padre Island means condos, beaches and Spring Break mayhem. Seen from the causeway, the high rise hotels stand sentinel in the early morning light.

To most people, South Padre Island means condos, beaches and Spring Break mayhem. Seen from the causeway, the high rise hotels stand like sentinels in the early morning light.

Even the dogs had fun!

Even the dogs had fun!

Portuguese Man of War jellyfish. I was stung by one of these in Durban, and took my revenge on the entire species by propping this one up in the sun to photograph it.

Portuguese Man of War jellyfish. I was stung by one of these in Durban, and took my revenge on the entire species by propping this one up in the sun to photograph it.

Another Portuguese Man of War, looking rather pretty and oh-so innocent.

Another Portuguese Man of War, looking rather pretty and oh-so innocent.

Heading into the surf to do battle with the waves.

Heading into the surf to do battle with the waves.

Focus on fishing (well, the rod and reel, anyway).

Focus on fishing (well, the rod and reel, anyway).

They also serve who only stand and wait.

They also serve who only stand and wait.

Got one! Alas, it was only a huge wodge of seaweed.

Got one! Alas, it was only a huge wodge of seaweed.

travel-album-logo

9 thoughts on “Travel Album: South Padre Island (Texas)

    • Elizabeth Krall says:

      Lurking indeed! They are evil things. (Okay, I know they’re not evil, but I harbour a grudge after being stung.)

      Like

    • Elizabeth Krall says:

      Thanks Jude. Considering I took the sunrise photo through the closed window of a moving vehicle, it’s not bad.

      Like

      • Elizabeth Krall says:

        LOL, it would take a lot more than a beach to turn ME into a morning person! It’s my parents’ idea to get up at 6am to go fishing, not mine. :-þ

        Like

Tell me what you think!

