Urban Safari

I went big game hunting in Sydney today, and bagged five rhinos just in my lunch hour! These Wild! Rhino figures have popped up in the city, dozens of them, as part of Taronga Zoo‘s drive to heighten awareness of the species’ precarious future.

A duo of rhinoceroses (rhinoceri?) checking out the shops on Pitt St.

A duo of rhinoceroses (rhinoceri?) checking out the shops on Pitt St.

A rhino lurking behind the shrubbery in Hyde Park.

A rhino lurking behind the shrubbery in Hyde Park.

This one's eyes were so realistic it seemed as if it watched me walk past.

This one’s eyes were so realistic it seemed as if it watched me walk past.

Seriously funky designer rhino.

Seriously funky designer rhino.

Up a bit ... left a bit ... there, now scratch!

Up a bit … left a bit … there, now scratch!

I'd love to see this selfie.

I’d love to see this selfie.

Who knew that rhinos liked sushi?

Who knew that rhinos liked sushi?

The cunning zebra disguise fooled no one.

The cunning zebra disguise fooled no one.

sydney-strolls-badge

16 thoughts on “Urban Safari

  1. How fabulous! I’m glad you got to photograph several of them to share with us – I remember loads of elephants in London like this a few years ago. The poaching of rhinos (and elephants) deeply saddens me. I sincerely hope that the world wakes up to this destruction before it is too late.

    Like

    • Elizabeth Krall says:

      I Googled the elephants – Elephant Parade, in spring 2010. I left London in Sept 2009, so missed those guys. I do wonder how many people see rhinos (or elephants) but miss the underlying message?

      Like

      • Most I suspect. Perhaps the message is not clear enough. If everyone who took a photo gave a donation that would be helpful. I’d willing pay something for the cause.

        Like

Tell me what you think!

