Found in nature

I really enjoyed Cee’s Black & White Challenge this week. It gave me another set of photos on which to practise my nascent RAW file processing, and it prompted me to look at my familiar surroundings with a new eye, wondering what might look good in black and white. These images are of things Found In Nature.

Dried silver fern leaf from New Zealand.

Dried silver fern leaf from New Zealand.

Eroded sandstone cliff face.

Eroded sandstone cliff face.

Dried flower heads.

Dried flower heads.

Sea shells from Texas.

Sea shells from Texas.

A weathered tree trunk.

A weathered tree trunk.

A feather in the grass.

A feather in the grass.

21 thoughts on “Found in nature

  1. Texture is key to B&W processing I think and all of these images are very beautiful and well captured. I like the fern leaf and flower heads best, probably because the backgrounds are so uncluttered. Do the borders come with your theme or do you create them yourself? I really like how they frame the images.
    J xx

    Like

      • Chacune son goût, eh? 🙂
        I don’t. I’m not from Sydney originally; and although I’ve lived here for nearly 40 years, there are MANY parts of I’ve never got to. Mind you, I do know that there used to be trams ! – and I wish to all the gods there still were …

        Like

      • Sounds like you now have a reason to make an excursion to Bronte! 😉 Mind you, I’ve lived here for 10 years, and walked through that cutting/car park dozens of times, yet only recently learned about the trams. I’ve done a quick Google to find you a link, and the line about buses now using the tram route makes me think I’ve got the wrong ‘cutting’ in mind! Mine is right on the cliff edge, no buses. Nonetheless, this is interesting: http://tinyurl.com/pus6qct

        Like

      • It’s terrific, Elizabeth ! I love Sydney’s history – it’s the closest thing there is to real history. 🙂
        Thanks SO MUCH: please send me anything else you ever happen upon ?

        Like

Tell me what you think!

