Gallery

Hidden treasures

(click any image to expand the gallery)

The objects in this gallery span 2,000 years of history in what is present-day Afghanistan. Until the middle of the 20th century, they were among the most prized pieces on display at the National Museum, Kabul.

In the mid-1970s, the museum’s collection numbered 100,000; by the mid-1990s, after years of war and violence, only 4,000 remained. Another 2,500 were destroyed following the Taliban’s edict against idolatrous objects. The museum building itself was bombed and over-run.

However, at high personal risk, a handful of museum staff spirited away some of the most precious objects. Until 2003, they lay undisturbed in vaults below the presidential palace. Following verification of their authenticity, and restoration in France, the artefacts have been touring the world as an exhibition since 2008.

How are we to regard these objects? Archaeological artefacts, cultural history, museum displays, precious jewellery, works of art? If you get the chance, see the exhibition and decide for yourself.

The exhibition contains objects from the late Bronze Age settlement of Tepe Fullol; a city founded by Alexander the Great, Ai Khanum; a merchant’s storeroom from the Silk Road depot of Begram; and a burial ground called Tillye Tepe, which means ‘Hill of Gold’, so named for the astonishing volume and array of gold objects.

18 thoughts on “Hidden treasures

  1. Oh, they are all gorgeous, Elizabeth ! – wonderful … fascinating … What kind of ‘religion’ destroys its history ?!

    Like

    • Thank you, MR. I couldn’t believe they let me take photos! The exhibition is quite an eye opener, you should check it out at the Art Gallery of NSW. There’s a guided tour at 1pm — not sure about weekends, but certainly M-F. It’s on for a week or so yet.

      Like

      • I went to the Alexander exhibition at the Museum, and that was a knockout. Only problem is that the crowds mean I can’t walk freely, and it ain’t good for the old lower back …

        Like

      • Very few crowds now. I went Wed evening, and returned Thurs at lunch armed with camera, and there was lots of room to stand and look. Or to kneel and take photos. 😉 The old lower back, well, that’s another issue.

        Like

      • Ah … Elizabeth … I have done you a … [searches for suitable word and fails]
        I have dobbed you in. Would you read my post called “Huntie puts me on a spot”, please …?

        Like

      • I would be happy to answer the questions (anything to sell a book or two!), but quite honestly I don’t know three writer bloggers onto whom to pass the baton, so to speak. As with a chain letter, I would be the broken link.

        Like

      • I’ll do it, no problem. But would you change the link under my name in your post from my photo blog to my writing blog? It would be more appropriate. elizabethkrallwriter.wordpress.com

        Like

Tell me what you think!

