orchid
Image

Man-eating orchid poised to strike

orchid shadow candle
I was given this miniature orchid almost exactly two years ago, for a birthday present. I’d never had an orchid before, and didn’t especially want this one. But it is a fascinating plant! I call it the man-eating orchid because of those air roots, which twist and twine, throwing grotesque shadows when illuminated by candle light. As you can see, though, it has lovely, delicate flowers, which last for weeks. This year, it presented me with a second flower stalk.

You can see a rather different shot of the same plant from August 2013 here.

12 thoughts on “Man-eating orchid poised to strike

  1. Is this a phalaenopsis ? – I can’t be sure, but the leaves and the roots seem to indicate as much. I can’t get a second flowering from any of mine, which means I’m doing something wrong. 😦
    Do you water yours ?

    Like

Tell me what you think!

