Video

Moving pictures – the Ken Burns Effect

This is the video trailer for my upcoming novel In Your Sights. I used a technique known as the Ken Burns Effect, in which panning and zooming are applied to still images in order to give the impression of movement. Very simple, but very effective. You often see it in TV documentaries, such as when the camera zooms in on one face in a group of people in an old photo.

BTW, be sure you have the sound on. I spent hours trawling through stock music sites to find a piece that I thought might work (and did not cost very much!). Do you think it gives an impression of tension and suspense?

Two of the photos in the video are not mine, they are from a stock photo site. Care to guess which two shots?

If the embedded video does not work, you can view it on YouTube.

8 thoughts on “Moving pictures – the Ken Burns Effect

  1. The lover and the soldier.
    Music excellent, but for the abrupt ending ! No fadeout function available ?
    I think this is terrific, Elizabeth ! – I wish I’d known what I do now and had taken steps like this …
    Congratulations !

    Like

  2. The lover and the soldier aren’t yours?
    Good trailer – I once did something similar around my granddaughter’s third birthday using Windows Movie Maker – I don’t think I added sound though. It is great fun, but does take time. Good luck with the sales of the book 🙂

    Like

Tell me what you think!

