Frangipanis – two out of three ain’t bad

Frangipani flowers (plumeria)

Frangipani flowers (plumeria)

A heavy rainfall this morning knocked a number of frangipani (plumeria — or kalachuchi as I recently learned they are called in the Philippines) flowers to the ground. I picked up these two on the way home from shopping. I can share with you their delicate pink shade and graceful shapes but not, alas, their intoxicating scent; ah well, two out of three ain’t bad!

I often use the rule of thirds when composing or cropping an image. In this case, I photographed these two flowers so that their centres fell on intersecting lines of the rule of thirds, using the grid on my camera. No cropping needed.

screengrab showing 'rule of thirds' grid in Photoshop

screengrab showing ‘rule of thirds’ grid in Photoshop

11 thoughts on “Frangipanis – two out of three ain’t bad

  1. I love frangipani. My son has a couple on his balcony and were in bud when I was there, I shall have to ask him if they have since flowered, though I did find mealy bug so hope he remembered to spray them 🙂

    Great image for the challenge!

    Like

  2. Elizabeth I would like to invite you to join in the black and white 5 day challenge that is taking place at the moment. I love your images and I know you can produce great B&W ones.

    There are only two rules for this challenge:

    On 5 consecutive days, create a post using either a past or recent photo in B&W.
    Each day invite another blog friend to join in the fun.

    You are under no obligation to join in and I realise you are a very busy woman, so only do it if you want to!!
    Jude xx

    Like

Tell me what you think!

