Image

Travel Album: New Orleans (1)

Courtyard, Le Croissant d'Or

Courtyard, Le Croissant d’Or (pastry shop)

Impressions of the French Quarter

Before I arrived in New Orleans (in June 2015), I had become quite concerned about my safety. I read so many articles about the crime, so many first-hand posts and comments from people who had been harassed, assaulted or robbed, that I almost regretted deciding to go. I even changed hotels in order to reduce walking time! Yet when I opened my hotel room curtains early on the first morning, the French Quarter seemed peaceful and innocent.

How much danger could this lovely spot possibly hold?

How much danger could this lovely spot possibly hold?

However, clearly it was not a safe place. This is not the sign a woman walking on her own wants to see:

oh dear oh dear ...

oh dear oh dear …

I am very happy to report that my stay in New Orleans was completely without incident. 🙂 Yes, parts of the French Quarter are tatty and tacky, full of drunks and fools and those who prey on drunks and fools, but early in the morning you can wander with a camera with no more than a sensible degree of caution. It’s a photographer’s delight!

Galleries

The difference (I learned) between a gallery and a balcony is that galleries are supported on pillars from the street, whereas balconies jut out from a building with no support.

Courtyards

When walking around an unfamiliar city, I can’t resist peering through open doors. Like Paris, New Orleans offers up glimpses of the private lives behind the public facades.

Le Croissant d’Or

My wanderings that morning did have a purpose: breakfast! I was aiming for a French pastry shop I had read about online, called Le Croissant d’Or. The inside seating area was air conditioned yet rather charmless, but the outer courtyard was full of character.

Street scenes

A few random photographs of things that caught my eye:

A reminder of a darker past

This former slave exchange is now a restaurant. My lunch was excellent, the service was attentive and friendly, but it was unsettling to look past the cheerful diners and try to imagine what scenes had played out in this building.

This is the first of a series of posts about New Orleans.


travel-album-logo

Can-US-badge

6 thoughts on “Travel Album: New Orleans (1)

  1. How wonderful, you got some brilliant snapshots of the area and I am so glad you escaped unharmed. I never used to be nervous when travelling alone, but I am much more wary these days. Glad you didn’t get put off. The wrought-iron galleries are worth it.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

