Image

Random Fridays: The 12 grapes of New Year’s Eve

New Year's Eve and the 12 grapes of luck.

New Year’s Eve and the 12 grapes of luck.

Two years ago, my parents and I saw in the New Year at the Gran Hotel Ancira, in Monterrey, Mexico. It was a sit-down dinner event with a live band and dancing. We were puzzled by the grapes on the table — each place had a wine glass with 12 grapes. Our Mexican table mates explained that it was a tradition to eat the grapes at midnight, and for each grape you had to make a wish. In Spanish, it’s called Las doce uvas de la suerte, “The twelve grapes of luck”. I’ve read that you are meant to eat one grape on each stroke of midnight, but these grapes were huge! We’d have choked trying to eat them so quickly.

Happy 2016 to everyone! May your own 12 wishes be granted.


random-fridays-logo-2

6 thoughts on “Random Fridays: The 12 grapes of New Year’s Eve

  1. I wish I’d known about this before I ate 12 grapes with my cheese platter about half an hour before midnight! Is it too late to make the wishes do your think? Wishing you a great year ahead Kaz xx

    Like

Tell me what you think!

