Image

Shakespeare in the abstract: 400 years

Shakespeare's Sonnet 18

Shakespeare’s Sonnet 18

23 April 2016 (the day I posted this) is the 400th anniversary of the death of William Shakespeare. This abstract photo of Sonnet 18 is my own small contribution to marking the man’s genius. Although the opening line is more famous (“Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?”), I think the final two sum up the fate of Shakespeare himself: for as long as people live, he too will live.
This photo is of my rather worn paperback copy of the 1996 edition of “The Nation’s Favourite Poems”, in which Sonnet 18 comes in at number 36.

4 thoughts on “Shakespeare in the abstract: 400 years

Tell me what you think!

