Image

Christmas Day at Bondi Beach

Golden sand, azure seas and blue sky: this is what it's all about.

Golden sand, azure seas and blue sky: this is what it’s all about.

For many Sydneysiders (and tourists), Christmas Day means a visit to the beach. And what better stretch of sand than Australia’s iconic Bondi Beach? I lived here during my first residence in Sydney (1999 to 2004), and now I’ve finally been able to move back. 🙂

On Christmas Day, festive headgear is part of the dress code.

Even the police get into the spirit of the season.

Not a snowflake in sight, but the trappings of a Northern Hemisphere Christmas are unavoidable.

The Red Baron dropped in for a visit, too.

There’s no escaping the crowd, however.

This is NOT my idea of fun!

This is NOT my idea of fun!

Even the waves were full of people.

Crowded waters

Crowded waters

The sweep of the beach seen from the north end.

Remember I said I moved back? My building is the white one at the far left of this photo.

Remember I said I moved back? My building is the white one at the far left of this photo.

So now you know what Christmas Day at Bondi Beach is like!

Bondi mural

Bondi mural

5 thoughts on “Christmas Day at Bondi Beach

  1. I’m just thinking about how many people are peeing in that water… and all those sore shoulders! I prefer my beaches a little quieter…

    A cold G&T around my own pool would be nice though. Or perhaps one of your summer cocktails – have you invented a new one for this year?

    Like

Tell me what you think!

