Image

Random Fridays: Stilton and fresh figs

A perfect pairing.

A perfect pairing.

I remember the first time I had fresh figs: I bought a bag from a woman selling them beside a road in Jordan. I had only ever eaten dried figs before (stewed into baggy pyramid shapes with pronounced stems, tough on the outside and seedy on the inside), so was curious. What a revelation! Sweet, juicy and full of flavour. Sadly, no supermarket fresh fig has ever come close to the glory of those Jordanian roadside figs, but I’ve discovered that they go extremely well with blue cheese. In the words of this week’s photo challenge, they are a good match.


random-fridays-logo-2

16 thoughts on “Random Fridays: Stilton and fresh figs

  1. Oh fresh figs are delicious – we get the brown ones here from Turkey I think, and I love them chopped up with some berries and yoghurt for breakfast. Nice with brie too.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

