Image

Random Fridays: I’m glad they’re small!

These blue crabs look pretty scary, but they’re only about the size of the end of my finger. I didn’t even spot them initially while walking along mud flats at Ettalong at low tide — it was the plop-plop-plop of millions of tiny feet that caught my attention. The more I looked, the more I was astonished. There were hundreds of thousands of these things! For those of you of a scientific bent, they are Mictyris longicarpus (light-blue soldier crab) I think.

As the heading says, I’m glad they are small. And not looking for a fight!

The next two shots give an idea of the numbers:


random-fridays-logo-2

4 thoughts on “Random Fridays: I’m glad they’re small!

  1. Eeks! you wouldn’t want to be walking barefoot among them. I saw something similar in South Africa in the marshland. Tiny things, but en masse rather scary.

    Like

Tell me what you think!

